Catrice – Absolute Rose

1

So… One of the most sought after palettes of 2015 happens to feature shades which are the hottest jewellery trend of the moment, yes, I’m talking about Catrice’s Absolute Rose palette. This 6 shaded little palette took the beauty world by storm and became everyone’s favourite and I have to admit it also swiftly became mine too! Best known as the supposed mini dupe for the Urban Decay Naked 3 palette, this little goodie has been nearly as elusive as the LA Girl Nudes palette. I searched and searched in Dischem and came up empty several times in several Dischems… until one day there she was and I swiftly bought it on the spot.

As mentioned the palette contains 6 shadows in a mix of shimmer and matte. Unfortunately the shades are not named but from left to right (lightest to darkest) here is what this palette contains

  • Shade 1 – A Matte highlighter color, a very light pink which is closer to my natural skin tone.
  • Shade 2 – A Semi matte Pink nude, which I’ve thought of more as a highlighter due to it’s slight shimmer
  • Shade 3 – A Shimmer nude, in a very natural beige/ taupe shade (probably my favorite shade)
  • Shade 4 – A darker taupe/ nude shade which has a great shimmer and a ‘creamy’ texture
  • Shade 5 – A matte mauve/ purple dark taupe color, which is a perfect ‘matte-base’
  • Shade 6 – A Shimmer dark red/ brown with a micro glitter, I think that this color falls in nicely (and is quite similar ) to the pantone for 2015 – Marsala.

So, my take on the palette… I love it, I find the colors seem to come up as more natural nude tones on my skin than rosy-hued tone. I think it is the perfect traveling palette and can easily take you from day to night with the simplest of applications. I find the colors to be perfectly pigmented for my needs and the handy applicator (one side brush one side sponge) perfectly applies the shadows – I did have a small amount of fall out on my first attempts but this could be because I was a little more generous with my application then I usually am.

2

The price (R100) is slightly more expensive than when Catrice originally launched their eyeshadow palettes with the Nudes and Brights collection, but it is great value for money. Do you need this palette, well, I didn’t (see I can admit that I have too much make up – it doesn’t stop me from buying more though 😉 )  but I do think that it is a great palette to have in your collection. Have you purchased it? What are your thoughts?

2 thoughts on “Catrice – Absolute Rose

Leave a Reply

