ManiMonday: #SorbetCelebraten

The ever popular Sorbet Salons offered a twitter giveaway in celebration of their 10th birthday, they were giving away a Power-Mani at each of their stores. I was lucky enough to see the give-away early and quickly tweeted for my local store at the Pavilion shopping mall here in Durban and good news, I won!

1

So at 10am on the 10th of the 10th I stood in the store waiting to celebrate the 10th birthday by having my nails done, not only that but the wonderful peeps at Sorbet decided to give 10% of all of their products on that day too, so the store was bustling with activity. After being greeted and ‘checked in’ I got to choose my polishes from a wall of choices. I choose Fame Game from Morgan Taylor, a seriously irresistible multicolour glitter and Jaded a light cream based green colour from Sorbet’s own line, I have ogled this colour many a time in Clicks stores and it doesn’t disappoint.

After choosing my colours I sat down and was treated to a glass of Speir Sparkling pink, as a non-drinker I had to admire how pretty this looked but I will admit I was incredibly worried I would knock it over while having my nails done so my manicurist kindly took it away. My hands were left to soak in a fruity smelling warm bath before having a delicious strawberry scrub rubbed over my hands and my forearms, this smelt amazing and was a definite highlight of the manicure. Once soaked, exfoliated and dried my cuticles were pushed back and hands were treated to a matching strawberry smelling cream. I did ask and both the scrub and cream are Sorbet’s own brand – if I’m not mistaken it is the pink option.

Base coat was applied followed by two coats of colour and a cuticle oil, and I enjoyed every minute of the treatment. It was relaxing, I felt completely pampered and I left with stunning looking nails and wonder of wonder’s I managed to not smudge a single one when walking out of the store!! A true miracle (if you know me.) I will say that the Sorbet nail polish did unfortunately start to bubble on my nails and the only reason I can think that this happened was because the nail polish was exposed to too much air during the procedure and the previous one’s it had been used on.

2

I absolutely love these colours together, Fame Game is simply stunning!!! I am going to need to find myself a bottle of this polish because this will liven up any manicure. Jaded is such a stunning colour and I’ve contemplated purchasing it before, I think I might need this in my collection so I’ll keep my eyes out for it. And finally, happy birthday to Sorbet, I look forward to visiting your salons more in the next ten years.

 

Leave a Reply

