Face Mask Friday! Freeman – Charcoal and Black Sugar Facial Polishing Mask

Face Mask FridayThis weeks mask is the Charcoal & Black Sugar Facial Polishing Mask (quite a mouthful!). This highly acclaimed and to some ‘holy grail’ mask comes with a little controversy as there are arguments in the blogosphere about whether this is a mask or a scrub, I use it like a mask therefore I totally believe it should fall in #FaceMaskFriday.

2

The exfoliating mask is sugar based, made with black sugar and purifying charcoal. The sugar in the mask is rather abrasive and the formula of the mask doesn’t feel like your typical clay or cream based facemask nor does it apply as one. I don’t think that the foundation brush trick that I mentioned in my previous post here would work with this mask.

The sugar in the mask is set in a sticky ‘syrupy oil’ concoction making it a challenge to apply, I find that this is one mask which is not meant to coat your face in a thick layer but rather a thin layer with  ‘chunks’ in your problem areas. The mask doesn’t dry onto your skin and remains most throughout it’s 10 minute wear time, once you mix it with warm water your mask becomes more of a scrub working on purifying, exfoliating and brightening your skin by exfoliating your dull skin cells and leaving you with soft, clear skin.

I hated this mask when I first tried it only because I couldn’t understand how to use the mask to fully benefit my skin, now that I know the quantity to apply to my face I love this mask and ensure that I do it on a bi-weekly basis and the night before any event. I would love to hear other peoples thoughts on this mask because I’ve read so many different ones, so please let me know below what you thought of this mask, which mask in the Freeman range is your favourite and if you prefer to use this mask as a mask or a scrub?

Freeman products are available at Dischem stores for roughly R70 a tube or R20 per sachet they are also often on special for R100.

One thought on “Face Mask Friday! Freeman – Charcoal and Black Sugar Facial Polishing Mask

  1. Pingback: {Christmas 2015} Stocking Stuffers… | janetennet

Leave a Reply

