Dermaceutic milk peel

So, a few weeks ago I was offered a great opportunity, I was asked if I would like to go and experience a Milk Peel by Dermaceutic. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to go to their clinic that is in Howick but they ever so kindly organized for me to visit one of their Doctors in Hillcrest. A funny and small world experience happened as it turned out that the Doctor is actually one of the GP’s that I go to!! How small is the world???

dermaceutic-logo

I met Karen from Conquest at the doctors rooms and she briefly explained to me about the Dermaceutic brand, the experts in Aesthetic Dermatology, and about the Milk peel that I was about to have. Dermaceutic have three skin peels that they specialize in:
– The Mask Peel, for oily skin with dilated pores and excess sebum,
– The Milk Peel, for fine lines, dull complexion and loss of tone and,
– The Cosmo peel, for reducing signs of aging, improving texture and smoothness and reducing acne and pigment spots..

 

I was very excited to try the Milk Peel, I had seen that a few bloggers in Cape Town experienced the peel too and made sure that I read their blogs so that I knew exactly what I was going to experience. Of course when I mentioned to my parents that is was going they expressed concern about me going for a peel and the harsh chemicals used and the after effects a typical peel.

Thankfully the milk peel is not your typical peel. Unlike facials, peels deal with deeper levels of your dermis and stimulate regeneration from the bottom up, most peels can be a lengthy and painful procedure, the Milk Peel (after the initial consultation) takes 15 minutes, yes, this peel can be done during your lunch break and the best part is there is no social downtown.

dermaceutic-milk-peel-treatment

The benefits of the Milk Peel are:
– Restores a radiant complexion,
– Stimulates the epidermis
– Regulates oily skin and dilated pores,
– Improves fine lines and wrinkles
– Evens skin tone
– Boosts the action of daily cosmetics.

Proven results include:
92% of patients skin was more luminous after two treatments (clinical findings)
83% of patients said skin was more even and more radiant after three treatments
100% of patients showed a significant improvement in frown line roughness after just one treatment.

Yes, you read those findings right don’t those results sound amazing?? Also the Milk peel is meant to be a continued treatment, it is recommend that you start with four treatments every second week and thereafter a treatment is once a month to six weeks. Ideally this is the time frame that we should be having facials, and the Milk Peel will actually take the place of the facials.

So how was my experience? Wonderful, Rhodé (my doctor) has a very calming effect on people, her office is a little haven for the sick and weary and she is incredibly knowledgeable, I trust her implicitly. After making myself comfortable on the bed my skin was cleansed with Foamer 15 which cleanses and prepares the skin before cosmetic treatments, it’s results are smooth, silky radiant skin and tightened pores, this cleansing step does have an initial ‘tingly’ stage – on my scale of one to ten this would be around a one/ two.

Thereafter a teeny tiny amount of the Milk Peel formula is brushed onto your skin, this stays on your skin for 90 seconds, I experienced a very slight tingling sensation and sensitivity in this stage too, on a scale of one to ten possibly a 2/3, this sensation was mainly in my ‘sensitive’ areas – around the nose, above my eyebrows where I had a wax earlier in the week, and the area between my bottom lip and chin. Once the 90 seconds are up your skin is abundantly rinsed with water and dried.

Once the formula is washed off, your skin is treated to an intense moisturizer I’m the form of Hyal Ceutic, this helps to moisturize the skin after the aesthetic procedure and prevents the signs of premature aging. Hyal Ceutic is an incredibly thick cream filled with Hyaluronic acid, aloe, jojoba oil and vitamin E, and it leaves your skin with the most nourished, radiant look. In fact a friend of mine told me that my skin looked oily when I had this on because it leaves your skin with an intense glow/ shine.

I looked in the mirror at this point, and yes, I was glowing beautifully this I was told is one of the benefits of having a peel. Honestly the amount of glow was seriously ridiculous, I could have lit up a neighborhood, but I was also so impressed. With taking care of my skin more and more, I’ve wanted to try to bring back this glow, that ‘wow’ factor, that radiance, and this is the only time I have truly noticed the glow back in my skin. Unfortunately I don’t have any photos of these stages simply because I wanted to try to relax and enjoy the experience.

I have been given a few Dermaceutic products and I look forward to trying and reviewing them a little later on the blog, so please keep an eye out for them, I’ll also let you know next week how my skin has reacted to the Milk Peel and the differences I’ve noticed. If you are interested in finding out more about the peels or any of the skincare products that Dermaceutic offers please contact them on Enquiries@conquest.co.za by their Facebook page or 011 706 2518.

Leave a Reply

