Lush – Mint Julips

Mint Julips, I’m pretty sure this is a play on words… Mint Julips… Mint – ju-lips… Mint – your – lips… Hmmm.. What do you all think?

IMG_7220Lush – Mint JulipsLush, oh Lush! We all seem to have this amazing love affair with Lush cosmetics and beauty products and they seem to be unable to do anything wrong! With it being winter here in Durban I’ve gone through a time where my skin has been very dry, and the weather doesn’t just affect your skin, my lips have been chapped, dry and feeling scaly (even though they didn’t look it). I knew I needed to get or to make a product to scrub my lips with, and I didn’t want to use the ‘old-toothbrush-and-Vaseline’ trick because I knew that would be too rough for my lips. Thankfully I was in Gateway around about this time and had planned on popping into Lush to have a little Look-see, so I thought about getting one of their lip scrubs, Bubble-gum or Popcorn, the idea of the popcorn flavored scrub messes with my mind a bit too much though, so I thought I would look and see.

“Just like the scrumptious cocktail served in hot southern summers, Mint Julips is packed full of fresh peppermint and sweet castor sugar. Peppermint is responsible for that ‘tingly feeling’ you get after brushing your teeth or using lip balm, so we thought it would make a perfect addition to our lip scrub! Plus, it makes Mint Julips tastes like a big, creamy bowl of mint chocolate chip ice cream.”                                                                                                                                                                     source

As usual when you walk into Lush you are greeted like a prodigal coming home and made to feel like you should be having a bath, massage, hair wash right in the middle of the store. I walked straight to the back of the store where the lip scrubs are and saw they had Mint Julips in stock, picked it up, grabbed a soap and a bath bomb and paid! Wheew! I managed to stick to my budget.

IMG_7222

I used Mint Julips three times a day for the next few days, applying a natural lip balm product afterward to keep my lips soft and within 5 days my lips were feeling soft, smooth and kissable again…as they say on their website

Our fabulous lip scrubs are here to keep your kissers sweet. When you use Mint Julips, you’ll find yourself craving a bowl of mint-chocolate chip ice cream. It’s made with refreshing peppermint oil, which will make your lips feel soothed and tingly, and sweet vanilla extract to lock in moisture and protect your lips. Simply rub it over your lips when they’re feeling the need for some sugar.

Mint Julips retails for R95 for 25grm bottle, lets be real, this isn’t the cheapest lip scrub on the market, in fact it is rather expensive but I just have to mention though that in the little tub of Mint Julips is a heck of a load of product, and you need barely any on your lips to get a good exfoliation – I find that I can tap my finger on the top of the product and spread the amount on my finger over both lips without needing extra. One of the best things about Mint Julips is the fact that you can lick it off – and freshen your breathe at the same time – all the products, sugar and oils in it are natural and ‘good’ for you, the sugar is even fairtrade!

IMG_7218

One thought on “Lush – Mint Julips

Leave a Reply

