Dermalogica: Precleanse

o l a  b e a c h  c l u bSuper hero, no, not that TV series about the super human beings, or that movie about the guy who always saves the girls or even that true life story of the ‘knight-in-shining-armor’ who rescued the girl stuck in some dodgy situation. I’m talking about the ‘super-hero’ of facial cleansing, or should I say of facial pre-cleansing, that’s right… Dermalogica Precleanse.

My first encounter with Precleanse was at the Dermalogica 20th birthday event that I went to, Paula who was conducting my facial for the day used the product to remove my make up and dirt and grime that had attached itself to my skin (even at 9am1) before carrying on with the rest of the cleansing routine.

Now, if you are a somewhat normal person you will probably be asking yourself why on earth you need to have a pre-cleansing ritual, as in a ritual to clean your face BEFORE your ritual to clean your face… it’s all kinda confusing… and honestly I’m still battling to come to terms with it. Basically Dermalogica’s Precleanse is an oil based product that strips your skin of makeup, sunscreen, built up oil, dirt and grime that have clung to your face during the day, being oil based it literally melts your make up off, even your super stubborn water-proof mascara and leaves your skin set to continue with cleansing and moisturizing.

Precleanse comes with the following instructions;

Dispense into dry hands. Massage over dry face and eyes to dissolve surface oil and dirt. Concentrate on areas of congestion or stubborn debris. Wet hands and continue massaging to create a light, milky emulsion. Rinse with lukewarm water. Follow with prescribed Dermalogica Cleanser for professional cleansing results.

I find that a small (between 20c and 50c sized) amount of product covers my entire face, and no matter what I try (warm or cold water) I can’t seem to make a ‘milky’ emulsion, I also find that you need to concentrate on your eye area quite a bit as otherwise you are left with mascara and eyeliner on, which some foam cleansers battle to remove. I am loving the product I feel that the double cleansing has been very beneficial for my skin and that it has increased the amount of moisture in my skin as the oil is very moisturizing. As with all Dermalogica products it is rather expensive but I’ve been told that the bottle should last you the majority of the year, so it can be very cost effective.

Have you tried Precleanse? Do you have a pre-cleasing routine? Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

