City Ballet

I was reading a blog over this past weekend and the blogger mentioned City Ballet a Web series by Sarah Jessica Parker (yes, good old amazing SJP) about the world behind the scenes of the New York City Ballet Company – one of the most famous ballet companies in the world.

Screen shot 2013-11-05 at 10.01.46 PM

I love watching dancing, dancers on the street, little kids dancing, TV shows about dancing, movies with dancing in them (Musicals like Phantom of the Opera, Center Stage, Step Up, Save the Last Dance – all of them), and reality TV shows, I’m always super jealous because I’m not a good dancer, I never went for any dancing lessons as a kid even though I would love to have gone. I even joke with my mom no-a-days that the one thing I wanted most in the world as a kid was to do ballet (it wasn’t, but I would have loved to have tried it) and that my childhood has been scared from not being sent for lessons. But I like to think that I can recognize good dancing, the creativity, the athleticism, the grace, the emotion, and this series has all of it.

Here is what the City Ballet website says…

Enter the graceful but competitive world of ballet through the eyes of executive producer, Sarah Jessica Parker. This behind-the-scenes docudrama reveals what it takes to perform on the ultimate stage, the New York City Ballet.

Basically the web-series takes you behind the scenes, through the levels of the ballet company, the costumes and make up, into the hours upon hours of rehearsals, into relationships and family lives of the dancers, the back-breaking physicality and the grim outlook when a dancer is injured is profiled in a way that leaves you teary, and it describes perfectly the passion and drive that these dancers have.

The dancers who have been show cased in the series are phenomenal, they ooze creativity and are the ultimate ‘prima-ballerina’s’. I’m not going to lie I stayed up late one night watching the whole series and I wish they had been longer, each episode is between 5-7 minutes long and I’m glad I didn’t have to wait to see them all.

To whet your appetite, here is the first episode…

You can watch the rest of the series here

Leave a Reply

