Ideas Trunk Show

Ok, I know I have been very, very quiet on the blog this week. I played tourist with my German bestie for the end of last week and she unfortunatly shared her germs with me and so I have been sick all week; and not the fun ‘I’m sitting home in my pj’s sick’, but the ‘I’m trying to kick this so will still go to work doped up on flu meds’ sick.

I was sent this great press release from Idea’s magazine a week or so ago and I’m not sure what my readership is down in CT but knew that I had to share this because if I was down in the Cape this would be where I would be spending my weekend. So here you go…

 

IDEAS MAGAZINE TRUNK SHOW

Ideas  Trunk Show 2014

The second annual Ideas Magazine Trunk Show, the celebrated handmade, craft and décor market presented by the popular title, will be taking place on Saturday, 12 July and Sunday, 13 July 2014 at the Simondium Country Lodge in Franschhoek. “Those attending will see the pages of our publication come to life,” says Terena le Roux, editor of Ideas magazine. Le Roux adds: “The Ideas Magazine Trunk Show is a unique browse-and-buy experience that personally introduces the creations of over 25 talented exhibitors to an audience on the hunt for handmade and niche products. Consumers are returning to authentic, once-off products instead of mass-produced goods. That is what this creative wonderland will be about.”

Many of the entrepreneurs featured in the monthly magazine will be on hand at the event to showcase their wares in visually arresting spaces, with décor, quilt-making, food, craft and vintage stalls promising to delight those attending.

“Apart from the vendors, our very own Ideas team will display a range of one-of-a-kind items, which were made specifically for previous issues. This will give visitors an opportunity to zhoosh up their own homes with a unique piece. Food and wine lovers will also be able to delight their palates at the food stalls, the Simondium Country Lodge’s restaurant and at the wine lounge where a selection of the Graham Beck range will be served,” says Le Roux.

Tickets for the second Ideas Magazine Trunk Show cost only R30 per person and will be available at the door on the day, or alternatively from Taheerah Abrahams at Ideas magazine (021 408 3837 or Taheerah.Abrahams@media24.com).

The craft market will be open from 9am to 5pm on the Saturday (12 July) and from 9am to 4pm on the Sunday (13 July 2014).
Great reasons to attend the Ideas Magazine Trunk Show:

  • It is very affordable at only R30 per person.
  • Handmade is the new haute couture – see firsthand why.
  • One-stop-shop appeal with over 25 creative entrepreneurs.
  • Delicious food, wine and bubbly available.
  • Meet the Ideas editor and team.
  • Be inspired by like-minded entrepreneurs to get your own creative juices flowing.
  • Once-off opportunity to purchase one-of-a-kind items featured in Ideas magazine.
  • Get a head start on your Christmas shopping with a treasure trove of bespoke items.
  • Combine your visit with the Bastille Day festivities taking place in Franschhoek over the same weekend.
  • Once-off special editions from Ideas magazine will be on offer.

Ja, so I’m super jealous, this is a great event and the best thing is it won’t cost you an arm and a leg to go to it. If you are down that way, please pop by and feel free to instagram me pic’s to make me jealous as I sit home and be sick.

 

Leave a Reply

