Mani Monday: Rubybox Nailed It!

So at the great #DBNBloggerMeet we were given a bunch of Rubybox goodies. Now if you haven’t heard about Rubybox you may have been living under a rock, Rubybox is everywhere in the online beauty world in South Africa. Not only are they the premier Beauty Sample Subscription box service in South Africa but they have even started retailing their own products including brushes, accessories and nail polish. (btw! they often have super duper specials so be sure to sign up!)

I received the Nailed It! Lacquer In either Stargazer or By the Seaside, I’m not sure which color as it doesn’t actually say. I’m pretty sure that it was actually By the Seaside – judging from the pictures on Rubybox. I’m sorry to report that the color has not won me over. I’m not really a dark blue nail polish kinda person, I think in my youth I was persuaded to wear it but as a young adult it just doesn’t work for me any more.

I painted my base coat (TipTop nail strengthening) and thereafter I painted two coats of the Ruby Box polish and thereafter a coat of Nails Inc Caviar Top Coat. I was very impressed with how smoothly this polish went on, the brush though is of the thinner styling, the polish didn’t steak and the micro glitter gives it a great metallic finish. The color is a gun metal blue, and could possibly play on a denim effect. It is a super forgiving nail polish as some tiny chips and shrinkage in the tip you don’t even notice (yip, I managed to bang my pinkie while it was still wet).

Rubybox - By the SeasideBy the Seaside on the Rubybox Website

The polish dries incredibly quickly (!) – no like seriously… I painted my nails around 8pm by the time I got to bed at 10pm they were hard as a rock! The polish is a smooth formula which dries ‘flat’; I’m not sure if this makes sense but…sometimes when you paint two coats your nail polish sits a little higher than your normal nail bed (like when you see someone with Gel nails and they are raised/ ‘puffy’), this dries flat in the sense that it doesn’t look thick and uneven on your nails. This was a definite plus for me! I painted my nails on Friday night and I wore the polish until it started to chip really badly – unfortunately this happened on Sunday. I was slightly upset because I was hoping it would last longer especially because of how nice this polish was.

IMG_6318 Sorry about the bad lighting!

Would I purchase this product – Yes, not in this color but the formula is great and Rubybox has some beautiful colors on offer, it does retail for slightly more than your average (Essence/ Catrice/ Rimmel/ TipTop/ Sinful Colors) nail polish at R80, which I’m not sure is that great a price as it chipped so easily. But I would be willing to give one of the other colors another try at some point. This color is going to a friend who said she loved it…

One thought on “Mani Monday: Rubybox Nailed It!

  1. Pingback: Tuesday 10’s – 10 things I refuse to live without any longer | Hipstyler, Pretty & Ginger

Leave a Reply

