Review: Lush’s Sweetie Pie Shower Jelly

Ok, so the post I had wanted to post was deleted last night… or should i say unedited, thankfully though I have managed to recover it and once it has had it’s pictures added to it I shall post it… In the mean time…

I have been a Huge-I-normous-giant-large-super-Cali-frag-a-listik- gantic fan of Lush (yes, I did just shove all the large sounding words together 😉 ) since I first travelled and managed to stretch my fifteen/ sixteen-year-old- selfs savings into buying a mango soap which smelled phe-fricking-nomenal.
On that trip overseas, I must have spent several hours in all of Lush’s Irish stores, in fact I’m the type of person who goes into each branch of the store to see if there is anything different, I’m sure there never was but everything looked and felt new to me.

And so my infatuation with Lush began at a ‘young’ age on my first trip to Ireland when I was 15/16… And as divinely lovely as the products smelt I did always find the products expensive, this was probably due to the fact that I was always having to convert from Pounds/Euros and Dollars to get a price in good old ZA Rands, and also the products being handmade, and as earth-friendly as possible in a time when that wasn’t common and of course cost more.

Anyway, back to the shower jelly! I bought this pretty much the moment I heard about the Lush online store. I made a bit of an extravagent order all while moping that I couldn’t purchase all of the items I wanted as some didn’t ship well. And so, Sweetie Pie shower jelly was put in my cart, I paid the exorbitant courier fees and it was delivered to my door like that *click!*

So… This purple, grape Fanta smelling blob arrives in the cutest of little tubs. Lush usesthe freshest of fresh ingredients in all their products, organic fruit and veggies, essential oils and safe synthetics, they use little to no preservatives and are packaging ‘lite.’ In fact all if not most of their products come with a handy sticker that tells you who has made the product, when it was made and how long it will last for.  According to their website;

Sweet and sophisticated fruitiness. Lashings of blackcurrant and bergamot essential oils in a sour cherry and coconut jelly make this about as fruity as you can get. It is incredibly difficult to resist taking a spoonful. Instead, take a handful and smooth it over your hair and body. Passing strangers will smell you and find their minds wandering to fruit pastilles.

Sweetie Pie_pot2-500x500(Source)

Honestly this is one of my favorite Lush products, you can use it as a body wash or as a shampoo. It’s ‘bright, berry-filled wobbly fun’, you can use this as it comes, put it into the freezer or fridge to firm it up, or tear off pieces (which is how Lush recommends it). I’ve used the jelly as a whole product and it is incredibly slippery (!) in fact I feel like I should reward myself if I manage to use it without dropping it in the shower, but this can be solved by tearing pieces off and using the pieces instead of the whole jelly. (Side note: after a while using the jelly as a whole it does start to break down)

The jelly can be used on your hair as well as your body and I tried it out this weekend… It made my hair smell delish but unfortunately I didn’t find the lather strong enough for my medium – long hair. I think if I had shorter hair I wouldn’t hesitate to use it as a shampoo, but as my hair is long and needs a good condition as well I think I will keep it as a body product. On a side note, many men might think that Lush products are fruity and girly and definitely not for them, but…whenever my brother comes over to our house he basically jumps in the shower and uses the jelly. Kids will love it, hispters will love, earth-friendly people will love it, for R55 per 100gram this is a very worth while buy as it lasts simply ages!

If you happen to live outside of Durban or Cape Town (but you are in South Africa) and you would like to purchase some Lush products have a look at their online store here.

Leave a Reply

